Summer 2006

Shocker Re-Group

members of the Class of 1956
The newest inductees into Wichita State’s  50-Year Club are
members of the Class of 1956 who returned to campus for
reunion festivities this spring.

Graduates from the University of Wichita’s Class of 1956 gathered on campus April 20-22 for a weekend of catching up on old times and with old friends — and reacquainting themselves with their alma mater.

Reunion activities featured a class reception at the Woodman Alumni Center, the smooth sounds of jazz ensembles participating in the Wichita Jazz Festival at WSU venues, mouth-watering barbecue and exciting Shocker baseball at Eck Stadium, as well as campus tours highlighting the Rhatigan Student Center, Ulrich Museum of Art and Charles Koch Arena.

Of special note was a trolley tour of the campus hosted by James J. Rhatigan, dean emeritus of students and namesake of Wichita State’s student campus center.

50 year medallion

At a gala luncheon in the Rhatigan Student Center, attendees were inducted into the university’s 50-Year Club and presented commemorative medallions from WSU President Don Beggs hn ’05 and WSU Alumni Association Executive Director Debbie Kennedy ’94. Class of 1956 members Jim Mann, of Wayne, Pa., Jay Decker and Lois (Burris) Hubbard, both of Wichita, spoke on behalf of the class.

Each of the speakers stirred up warm collegiate memories — and brought out roars of laughter with stories of student hijinks.

Another luncheon highlight was the “special recognition” portion of the program. WSU Alumni Association President Dave Dahl ’71/74 recognized Neil Sikes for having the most great-grandchildren (three) and Leo Carney for having traveled the farthest, coming all the way from Penn Valley, Calif.

Other out-of-town guests were Bill Blake of Shawnee Mission, Kan.; Frank Brannen of Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.; Connie Hoffmans of Henderson, Nev.; Jack Huenergardt of Andover, Kan.; Wayne Kahmeyer of Castle Rock, Colo.; Verne Kling of Dubuque, Iowa; Marguerite (Hardesty) Lohrenze of Lawrence, Kan.; Ron Mayer of Carmel, Ind.; Don Oder of Chicago, Ill.; Karlene (Smith) Skillen of Cheney, Kan.; Marjorie (Wolfe) Swofford of Sapulpa, Okla.; Ken Wallace of Colleyville, Texas; and Marc Webb of Tucson, Ariz.

Also returning to campus were Jim Clancy, Harold Dwyer, Alene (Tibbitts) Oneale La Fever, Warren Laughlin, Charlie Russell, Neil Sikes, Harold Stover and Jim Strathe, all of Wichita.


Shocker Faces

Shocker personalities show up everywhere. Take a look!

Shocker Re-Group

Graduates from the University of Wichita’s Class of 1956 gathered on campus April 20-22.

Director's Corner

Debbie Kennedy, WSU Alumni Association executive director, provides a wrap-up of the year.

President's Corner

Dave Dahl pens his “adieu” message.

Shocker Zen & CaddyShock VI

Perhaps the Shocker golfers of CaddyShock VI didn’t exactly “achieve total consciousness,” as was the golf tournament’s thematic goal.

WSU Drive Your Pride and Legacy Scholarship Recipients

Thanks to the 1,029 Shockers sporting WuShock on their Kansas license plates, more than $160,000 has been added to scholarship funds.


WSUAA News and Events

Thank You, Heritage Fund Contributors

The Heritage Fund provides crucial support for the continuation and growth of current association programs, as well as providing for the initiation of new areas of service.